Skip to content

Darkest Before the Dawn

28 September 2009

What’s that they say?

It’s always darkest before the dawn.

Hmm.  Well, in that case, dawn must surely be just around the corner because it’s pitch black, here!  I can’t see an inch in front of me.

In the event that you haven’t been keeping up with my Twitter feed (of which, I’ve been meaning to ask: Why haven’t you?), things have gotten extremely hairy here in Townsleyland.  What was supposed to be a fun, relaxing four day mini-break with my husband from Thursday-Sunday turned into something of a nightmare.  Aaron’s referring to it as the [mini]vacation from hell.

He’s not wrong.

To understand the whole situation, you have to know a few things about my husband.  He works long, arduous hours at a thankless job; has a chronically ill wife who is a full-time student; and when he’s not tending to me or working, he spends his time on his computer–mostly playing an MMO.  As goofy and funny as he sometimes is (I can always count on him to make me laugh), he’s pretty intense and introspective.  It’s just the nature of the man I married.  He’s not into sports (though he’ll watch if everyone else is), generally dislikes television (except for Dexter, True Blood, and a select few other shows), and hates that reading books takes up so much time.  Movies might be the only thing he loves in the entertainment world (outside of gaming), but his standards are such that so few films impress him.  Some guys have their cars or their sports teams, Aaron has his computer. In other words, the thing you should take away from this is: Aaron loves his computer like it was fifth appendage.  It’s what he does.  It’s the only “frivolous” thing he asks to have that’s just his in the whole wide world.  And it’s the only thing he ever spends any money on.

Now, back to the story.  Wednesday night rolls around and Aaron’s looking forward to having four days off.  We had planned on heading south to visit my grandparents early Thursday morning (and coming home Friday afternoon), so Wednesday night was his time to play WoW and forget about the countless 12-hour work days of the last month.  He gets home, kisses me “hello,” and then settles in with his computer.

Serious issue #1:  Oh man!  It won’t turn on.  He opens it up, pokes around, tries again.  Nothing.  Tries other fixes, makes some calls, utters a few obscenities: NOTHING.  Nothing works.  His computer (which is actually MY old computer that he built for me), has finally bit the dust.  After putting band aids on all the little problems from the last year, it’s kaput.  Finished.  Terminated.  In gaming terms: It’s been “pwned.”

So, of course, he’s upset.  Bummed.  Let down.  Disappointed.  And more than a little lost.  We’d been putting off buying a new computer for him for years now, but we had to bite the bullet, take the cash hit, and order a new one.  We find a great deal, three-year warranty, pre-built (usually he builds his own PCs) PC but it won’t be here until mid-week and his vacation ends on Sunday. How depressing for him–and for me, I had a ton of school work that I’d be working on and couldn’t even take advantage of a WoW-less vacation beyond the 2 days we’d be visiting my grandparents.

If that was the only bad thing to happen on his vacation, it would have been bad enough.  We thought it started rough, but by Friday morning, things were looking up.  Our trip was enjoyable.  We had a lot of fun, got rid of some stress, and genuinely didn’t want to return to “reality” in PA.  Alas, we didn’t have a choice.

Since he had no PC and I’d have my head in the books all weekend, he planned to call some good friends for a some Wii gaming.

But nothing’s ever that easy, is it?

Serious issue #2: we returned home Friday to some devastating news.  Aaron’s grandfather was entering Hospice that night.  He doesn’t have much time.  Aaron’s world is now completely upside down.  We go up to see his sweet grandfather on Saturday and spend a few hours with the family (of which I have only met Aaron’s mom, Dad and grandfather–it was awkward, but everyone was nice).  It was extremely difficult for Aaron, I think he was having flashbacks of seeing his grandma there years ago.   Aaron supremely hates Hospice and, though not an easy place for anyone to have to visit, he’s taking it exceptionally hard.  When we get home that night, I dive back into my school work, finish up some stuff, and then we go to bed, hoping tomorrow will be a better day.  It had to be, right?

Wrong.

Serious issue #3: On his way home from a day of Wii Rockband with our friends (I couldn’t go, too much school work), in the dark of night, driving down a long stretch of road, a deer runs out in front of Aaron, slams into his hood, flips up and over the car and completely wrecks it.  Thank God he’s okay.  The airbag didn’t go off.  Shocked and shaken, he manages to get home in one piece (as he was only a few miles from the house) and we assess the damage.  It’s smoking, hissing, and the front end is all bent to hell.  It’s undriveable at this point.

I’m surprised he got it home, actually, because the hood is buckled under and, it seems to me, blocking any reasonable view of the road ahead.  But, praise God, he is uninjured, safe, and we have kick-ass insurance.  It’s all covered, but now we’re down to one car.  I don’t know if it’s totaled, we’ll have to wait till the estimate to find out.

(now, please excuse me while I address my Lord and Savior for a moment):

So–um–is that enough, then, God?  Are You planning on throwing any more wrenches into our already complicated lives?  My parents are going away all next week and we’re watching the animals, so–ehem–You are going to watch out for us all, right?  Just wondering.  Not that we have any say in the matter, but should You, in Your Infinite Wisdom decide to throw anything else our way, could You give us some warning next time?  I’d really appreciate it, Jesus.  After all, You are the Man, Man.  Thanks, –Jessica

If you’ll notice, all of these terrible things have happened to Aaron and not directly to me.  It’s his computer, his grandfather, and his car that only he was in.  But, when you are married, as many of you know, two really do become one.  Everything good that happens to one happens to both–that goes double for the bad things.  I’ve been blessed to share in the great joys that have happened in his life in the past 5 years (he met and married the love of his life, what a lucky guy!), and I’ve also suffered through the bad.   You know what they say–you know all the old cliches and platitudes:

From from adversity comes strength.

When life hands you lemons, make lemonade.

Every cloud has a silver lining.

It’s always darkest before the dawn.

Every path has its puddle.

Turn that frown upside down.

Whew.  Cliche overload.  I know we have to move forward.  I keep reminding myself of how often bad things happen in threes.  Is that enough, then?  Are those the three and are we now due for some good things?  We have to be, right?  And if so, how do good things happen, then?  In twos, threes?  WHAT?  What’s next, God?

I promised not to trivialize the contents of this blog and to try not to waste your time.  It’s why you’ve not heard from me since the semester began.  But I suppose I just had to get this crap off my chest–out of me and into the ether–so that I can move forward and get on to the business of living.

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

In other news: I told you all there’d be an Inglourious Basterds review coming.  Unfortunately, I haven’t had the time to write one (whose idea was it for me to take 5 ridiculously difficult courses this semester, anyway?).  In short, I give it an A.  A few words that someone on Twitter used to describe his reaction went something like this: “If only it were so.”  Indeed. It may have been my favorite Tarentino film to date.  Supremely enjoyable.  When it’s released on DVD, I’ll review it further.

Till next time, kids, keep moving forward.  ASAP.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jordan permalink
    28 September 2009 1:54 pm

    WOW, I know how aaron feels about the car and the PC. I CAN NOT LIVE WITHOUT MY PC either, i just cannot, with IT guys, its our lives, PC are amazing. as far as the car, i crashed 3 times this year plus hail damage, so TRUST me, i know how you ffeel. in all, the crashes put me more in debt and i spent around 4000 on it (just my money) the insurance paid probably 10,000. it was not fun, it was a complete low in my life, all 3000 dollars from taxes was wasted. i am here, as always, if i can assist in any way 🙂 miss u both, and u can always call upon me for a little PS3 or Wii action, ha.

    hang in there guys!

  2. Emma permalink
    28 September 2009 4:13 pm

    Wow. Just…wow. I’m so sorry you both have had such a rough few days. Luckily, you have each other, and you’ll get through it! Thank goodness Aaron is okay. Hang in there, Townsleys! 🙂

  3. chrisb permalink
    29 September 2009 9:18 am

    I am sorry for Aaron and all of his bad luck and mishaps….thank goodness he is okay!!! as for the computer, I know I would feel lost, and I am not as attached as he is! But, of course everything will be ok, it all will work out. And hopefully his grandfather won’t go through too much misery. Hang in there, you have each other, and that is most important 🙂

Leave a Reply

