Skip to content

Puzzling, Indeed.

3 January 2009

Amigos y amigas,

After the post yesterday, I spent most of my day resting and even playing one of my hubby’s silly video games in an effort to get out of my head and spend a little time with him.  As such, I’ve had little time to consider the question raised yesterday about the billions of people who live in countries where Christianity is neither discussed or presented as a religion.  Yesterday I asked, “What of them?”  A good friend of many years (who I am happy to see is reading this blog!) commented after that with another excellent question:

… what about any of the gazillion people who lived prior to 2009 years ago, before Christianity even existed? Are they grandfathered in?

There must be some sort of other plan for those folks to have entered into the peace and comfort of Heaven.  Given that until 2009 years ago there was no Son of God yet to wash away their sins, God must have had other requirements for this.  Jews believe they had a way into Heaven that didn’t include Jesus, after all.  “Grandfathered in?”  I don’t know about that, but surely God didn’t just create all of those people simply to send them to eternal damnation.  That is, unless they used their free will in the service of evil, then, sole (and soul) judgment, as always, lay in God’s hands.

As I said, I’m relatively new to reading and interpreting Scripture beyond church preaching on Sundays, so I have perilously low levels of Bible knowledge and cannot claim answers at this time.  I’m not necessarily a Bible-newbie, but until recently, I’d not read much beyond what I learned in the various Christian churches I’ve attended in my lifetime.  There’s an abundance of questions to be raised, and I’m not entirely certain that we get the answers to all of our questions in this life.  But I promise that on my spiritual journey, I will be searching for as many answers as humanly possible–and I will share those answers I come across as I come across them.  Beyond what’s humanly possible, however, I’m not sure I’ll be much help.

God bless and ASAP.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Emma permalink
    3 January 2009 3:26 pm

    Agreed. There’s so much to learn, and so much we will never know, at least not in this lifetime. Enjoy your reading!

Leave a Reply

