Skip to content

Coincidence?

20 November 2008

Wow – God truly does work in mysterious ways.  I was listening to some ministry of Robia LaMorte today and it just blew me away – I could hear her words linking me to things I am experiencing and information I am coming across.  Her passion for God and people is just outstanding and her words truly make me feel like I am on the right path.  Walking with God and not against Him.

Listening to her speak with such conviction and with such humility and humor, it occurred to me today that honestly, NOTHING is coincidence when you are walking with the Lord.  Not One Thing.  There was a reason why we moved to PA.  A reason why Annie died so young.  A reason why I got lupus and fibro.  No doubt there was a reason I wasn’t able to fulfill my med school dreams.  A reason why I worked at CC (Aaron).  A reason why it didn’t work out at State Farm (my illness troubles, yes, but really it was because I am meant for more glorious work).  There is absolutely a reason why I went back to Robia’s website after all this time.  There was a purpose for me picking up a Purpose Driven Life, a reason my parents started going to The Bridge Church, a reason… a reason… a reason.  There is just always a reason.  Nothing is left to chance.  There is a reason for every single thing that happens in our lives when we are walking with God and I just have to say: I love this life!  This beautiful, difficult, painful, struggle-filled, joyous, dangerous, scary, happy life is a wondrous thing.  It truly is.

There’s also a reason why I listened to this ministry of Robia’s today.  I want to discuss Robia’s ministry more,  but I have so many disorganized thoughts in my head right now I don’t know that I want to try and sort it out at this moment and am loathe to confuse you all in the process.  What she’s talking about though, is very applicable to what’s going on right now in America and how things seem “so bad.”  But if it’s one thing we know, it’s that God will provide.  Security is not found in money, it’s found in The Provider.  And we know that God will do it His way – this cannot happen outside of God.  She brought up Exodus and how when Moses was leading his people in the desert and they were provided meager bread offerings and told to use what was provided and not try to save it – some of them disobeyed and saved it for the next day… problem was, that bread turned all gross the next day and was useless.  So, they eventually had to just trust that God would provide.  And I guess that’s how I’m feeling right now with my journey.  It would be one thing to go and get a job and overwhelm myself with work that I can’t physically do while I’m overwhelmed with my studies at university WHILE studying about God.  It’s another thing to focus on what God is telling me to do, listen to Him and walk with God and He will somehow provide.  It isn’t always for us to know how, but it will happen.

She talked about how people always complain because they can’t “see” or “touch” the Promised Land.  Right.  Well, I can’t see China right now, but that doesn’t mean it’s not there!  Makes me think of all those atheists out there who say that God can’t exist because they can’t see or touch Him – “God can’t exist… why… there’s no PROOF!”  To use a phrase from my generation: “Well, duh.”  It’s about faith.  I can’t see a whale from where I’m sitting right now, either, but that doesn’t mean they don’t exist.  Sometimes you have to abandon what you “know” – get out of your “reasoning mind” – and step into something bigger.  The process of transition – and if nothing else, life is just a big long string of transitions –  is to allow what is unfamiliar to become familiar and what is familiar to become unfamiliar.  She went in to how it was when she decided to stop smoking – how hard a transition that was.  At the beginning she thought of herself as a smoker who wasn’t smoking and it was unbelievably difficult.  It was the unfamiliar that she was trying to make familiar.  Not easy.  But by the end, when she would pick up a cigarette, it no longer held the same value, it wasn’t familiar anymore… she had become a nonsmoker who was smoking.  It didn’t fit.

Well, I suppose that the flow of my writing isn’t particularly linear here–but I promise you that I am done for now.  I hope you are all well this day and every day.

ASAP, God Bless.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. chrisb permalink
    21 November 2008 1:07 pm

    Very nice, I like your thoughts about how there is a reason for everything. I totally agree. When something happens, either good or bad, you need to take a look at it, and see what there is to learn from that. Everything happens the way it is supposed to, even if you can’t see that reason right away, it is there. You meet the right people at the right time, find the right book, music, etc….it is pretty cool when you think about it.

  2. Jessica permalink*
    21 November 2008 1:23 pm

    You’re darn right it’s cool. Awesome is more accurate a word 🙂 I always love your comments, Christine 🙂

Leave a Reply

