Skip to content

It’s a Right-Hander’s World

17 November 2008

Yep, that’s right.  But there have been studies to show that “lefties” do have a certain edge over the “righties” of the world in speed of brain function between left and right hemisphere.  Quoting from Michelle Malkin’s website (and shes quoting from here):

Left-handed people can think quicker when carrying out tasks such as playing computer games or playing sport, say Australian researchers.

Connections between the left and right hand sides or hemispheres of the brain are faster in left-handed people, a study in Neuropsychology shows.

The fast transfer of information in the brain makes left-handers more efficient when dealing with multiple stimuli.

Experts said left-handers tended to use both sides of the brain more easily.

Study leader Dr Nick Cherbuin from the Australian National University measured transfer time between the two sides of the brain by measuring reaction times to white dots flashed to the left and right of a fixed cross.

He then compared this with how good participants were at carrying out a task to spot matching letters in the left and right visual fields, which would require them to use both sides of the brain at the same time.

Tests in 80 right-handed volunteers showed there was a strong correlation between how quickly information was transferred across the left and right hemispheres and how quickly people spotted matching letters.

But when the tests were repeated in 20 left-handed volunteers, the researchers found that the more left-handed people were, the better they were at processing information across the two sides of the brain.

I’m not convinced that this is universally true as I’m not a “fast thinker” in any game related atmosphere.  Additionally, I don’t think I was quicker than my teammates on the softball field, though God knows I had some skills once upon a time.

It is nice to know, however, that we do have some advantages!

I liked these sayings from MM’s website:

“It’s the only thing left about me.”

“Only left-handed people are in their right minds.”

“Everyone is born right-handed. Only the greatest overcome it.”

You gotta love it.  I heard somewhere that Barack Obama is a lefty.  Might be the ONLY thing he and I have in common.  For that reason alone, I’ll give the guy the benefit of the doubt and “hope” that I’m wrong about how he’ll govern.  And honestly, I DO hope, just this once, that I am wrong.  I really want our first “black” president to be a good one.  Otherwise, it will just look bad.  Sad–I know–but true.

I haven’t done my bible study yet today as I’ve been awfully busy, but I think I’ll go to the Bible study now and then write a second post for the day.  Also, I’m going to exercise in a bit and try to get back into the swing of things there.  As the cold weather approaches, Jessie’s body goes into a painful funk (read: flareup), which makes it that much more important to exercise daily.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

