Skip to content

Wanted: Catchy, Insightful Title

13 November 2008

I’m in search of a catchy, insightful title for this weblog.  I encourage any and all of you to make a suggestion or two (or three…).  When doing this, keep in mind the theme of this weblog – “A Spiritual Journey” – and who I am. “All Things Jessica Townsley” sounds a bit trivial and even far less humble than it ought to be.  “Official Weblog of Jessica Townsley” is also a bit silly.  While this blog is authored by me, it’s not ultimately about me.  It’s about how God is working through me.  I’ll say that again, “It’s not about me (us), it’s about God!  It’s about how God is working not only in my life but in the lives of those around me and the world as a whole.

I also intend to cover “controversial” political issues insofar as they occur to me as vital to a spiritual journey.  There are certain issues that I just don’t believe ought to be considered political at all, but in this country we live in, they have become foremost on our collective mind.

Oh, I digress!

Anyway, I am hoping to come up with a permanent title in the coming weeks.  I want it to reflect this journey I’m on and the spirit in which I write.  Please, comment here OR send me an e-mail with your suggestions.  Currently, I’m looking at a collection of C.S. Lewis’s quotes and trying to glean some brilliant title from them.

WordPress has a feature in which I could allow for guest authors/bloggers.  I’m not thinking about guest bloggers at this moment in time, but I hope that at some point, I will be SO busy on visits and with school work that I will need a person or persons to step in and say a word of two.  As that time is not yet here, I’ll decline to promote anyone to “guest blogger” at this time.

Please tell your friends about this blog if you feel they may be interested in reading about my journey with God.  The goal is to write something insightful each and every day.  We’ll see how possible that is as time progresses.

I’m still reading The Screwtape Letters and finding much about which to think and laugh.  Lewis has a way of taking something seemingly simple, expanding it more complexly to explain it, and then breaking it back down so that you “get the big picture” in a few sentences.  Yesterday I read an excerpt about the virtue of humility.  I’ll leave you with an excerpt from a letter Uncle Screwtape wrote to his nephew Wormwood in regards to the virtue of humility and how The Enemy (God) wants us all to see ourselves and one another:

By this method, thousands of humans have been brought to think that humility means pretty women trying to believe they are ugly and clever men trying to believe they are fools.  And since what they are trying to believe may, in some cases, be manifest nonsense, they cannot succeed in believing it and we have the chance of keeping their minds endlessly revolving on themselves in an effort to achieve the impossible.  To anticipate the Enemy’s strategy, we must consider His aims.  The Enemy wants to bring the man to a state of mind in which he could design the best cathedral in the world, and know it to be the best, and rejoice in the fact, without being any more (or less) or otherwise glad at having done it than he would be if it had been done by another.  The Enemy wants him, in the end, to be so free from any bias in his own favour that he can rejoice in his own talents as frankly and gratefully as in his neighbour’s talents–or in a sunrise, an elephant, or a waterfall.  He wants each man, in the long run, to be able to recognise all creatures (even himself) as glorious and excellent things.

This reminds me of a friend’s recent blog about how we are all God’s children and that we should not sell ourselves short and think ourselves small.  Humility simply to be humble serves no one well, least of all God. This should not encourage you to be too prideful, but to instead see your contributions to the world God created as valuable as you would your neighbor’s.  What’s that saying?  Love your neighbors as yourself and love yourself as your neighbors.  We all have value.  And we are all meant to shine in God’s glory.  He who created us surely didn’t mean us to be shrinking violets hidden amongst so many brighter, taller violets – but for us all to be beautiful, tall, bright violets together.  Stand tall, friends.

ASAP – God Bless.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

