Skip to content

First Visitation…

10 November 2008

Greetings Friends,

So tomorrow, or rather today (as it’s 12:57am), is my first visitation as a potential future chaplain.  I will be accompanying Pastor Ted and our Lay Minister (whose name I do not know) on some visits tomorrow.  I don’t have any real details, and I suppose that’s what’s keeping me up tonight.  I haven’t taken my sleeping pill, which I definitely should, but until this moment, I felt like staying awake and letting thoughts and prayers roll around in my fertile mind.

Prayers are much appreciated today in light of this next step in my journey.  There’s about equal parts excitement and anxiety hitting me right now  – which is usually the way I feel when I’m about to take a leap, which this certainly is.  I can feel God working in me, though, because I don’t feel any actual negative sense about this.  It’s just my natural worry about being in public and trying anything new.  Fear of the unknown.  Maybe not even fear, just uncertainty about what’s to come.  You must understand, this is a gigantic step in my life’s journey and my path toward whatever God’s intending me to do.  It feels right.

I’m in the market for a study Bible.  It’s not something that ever occurred to me before this period in my life.  I always thought, “Oh, I should probably read that Book at some point.”  Lately, as I’ve been reading recommended scriptures, I’ve felt a sense that I’m not seeing the whole picture with my method of studying my NIV version of the Bible that I have.  I’ve got one recommendation on which one to get, but I want to consult with Pastor Ted about it also as he’s becoming a mentor to me as I walk this path with God.

Well, I suppose that’s all I have to say for the moment.  I apologize that this post isn’t more poetic or well written.  With so many unharnessed thoughts, it’s hard to sound overly eloquent at 1 o’clock in the morning.

ASAP, as they say!  God bless.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    10 November 2008 7:41 am

    Jes….ASAP I have been giving to you daily. I can’t express to you how proud I am of you. As your Mom God has given me the incredible gift of watching this journey up close and personal…..I AM BLESSED. When I think of all that has transpired over the past years to bring you to this time….I am over joyed. Even God showing me the book “GOD IS IN THE TOUGH STUFF”. That book started me truly back to seeing that we all need that close relationship with him. I shared it with you because your lifes journey has definately been tough stuff. But, God is good and he is showing us through our asking what great things he has in store for your life. I am excited to watch you grow in Christ’s love and to be there for your walk down the path he has chosen and that you are faithfully following. What a blessing!

  2. Melissa permalink
    13 November 2008 5:08 pm

    Just a thought Jessica, but you’ll probably want several versions of the Bible to compare and make your own educated decisions about scripture. I’m sure whatever college you choose will have their preferred version, but when I took a religion class during my undergrad, I enjoyed having lots of different translations to compare and think over. There are so many study Bibles out there too – time to go shopping and spend some time perusing in the stores to see what will best fit for you. Of course asking your pastor is a good choice too! I’m excited for you and glad that you’ve decided to share your journey with everyone on this blog. Love you! Thoughts and prayers with you!

Leave a Reply

